The Irish Centre for European Law

Please login to your existing account using the entry form opposite, or become an ICEL Member today by entering your email address and selecting the Register button.

Membership Benefits

ICEL Members are able to download/purchase papers and publications, as well as make conference bookings at a significantly discounted rate, in addition to other special offers throughout the year.

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet?
Create a new account now!

Founding Board of Directors


The Hon. Thomas F. O’Higgins
Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Director of the Centre

Senator Mary Robinson
Senior Counsel; Lecturer in European Community Law, TCD.


Kieran Corrigan
Chartered Accountant; Member, Custom House Docks Development Authority

Board Members

Geraldine M. Clarke

John D. Cooke
Senior Counsel

Denis Corboy
Political Advisor, Directorate General for Development, EC

Thomas F. Earlie
Secretary General, European Democratic Alliance, European Parliament

Mr. Justice Liam Hamilton
President of the High Court

Dr. Miriam Hederman O’Brien
Director, Allied Irish Banks plc

Dr. Brendan Kieran
Former member, European Commission of Human Rights, Strasbourg

Alan Matthews
Lecturer in Economics, TCD

Dr. Bryan MacMahon

Finbarr Murphy
Group Legal Adviser, Bank of Ireland

Donal Nevin
General Secretary, Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Professor Nial Osborough
Professor of Law, TCD

Bernard V. Rogan
Group Legal Adviser, Irish Distillers Group

Dr. W.J. Louden Ryan
Governor, Bank of Ireland

Peter Sutherland
Senior Counsel, Member of the Commission of the European Communities

Dr. John Temple Lang
Director, Directorate General for Competition, EC

Professor William A. Watts
Provost of Trinity College Dublin

News & Events

Our Brexit series continues with an examination of the implications for agriculture on 26th April.  For details of the final line-up of speakers, click here.


The 2017 Privacy Conference is now open for registration. For details of the event, click here.  


Professor Carl Baudenbacher, President of the EFTA Court will address members of the ICEL on the possible role of the EFTA court in a post-Brexit world.  Click here for more details.


Interested in learing about practice and procedure before the European courts?  Click here for more details.


The ICEL Eversheds Sutherland Procurement Conference can be found here.



ECJ Communiqués »

Commission Communiqués »

Over the past 20 years, the Irish Centre for European Law has provided an important forum for debate and discussion on major developments in the area of EU law. It has been the link between legal practitioners, academics and representatives of the wide range of sectors affected by European Law

Mary McAleese
President of Ireland

Images courtesy of The Irish Times, Trinity College Dublin,
Áras an Uachtaráin and the European Court of Justice
RSS Feed Sources: ECJ & EU Commission